badluckfairy

April 6, 2012

First day of school

Filed under: Uncategorized — by badluckfairy @ 19:17

You held my hand tightly as we walked through the gates.  My grip tightened slightly as we greeted the teacher.

I stood close to you for comfort as we waited to find out what would happen next.

Coat on peg, book folder in tray. This will become a daily ritual along with autographing the name card and pegging it up with those that belong to the other children.

My grip tightened once again as yours began to loosen. It was time, the other children were sat on the carpet waiting for the school day to start.

My heart skipped a beat as I realised I had to let go. I couldn’t hold on any more, I had to be brave.

I let go and moved away from you, all the time watching to see how you would react. Half of me hoping you would pull me into a tight embrace while the other half of me willed my legs to shuffle further away from you.

A new voice, kind and warm rang in my ears as the tears pricked at my eyes.

“He will be ok, you can leave now.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.