badluckfairy

May 8, 2011

I am not a robot.

Filed under: Uncategorized — by badluckfairy @ 22:29

It came to my attention a few weeks ago that despite not always appreciating the quiet alone time I have in the evening, I have become quite accustomed to it.

So much so that my brain seems to switch to minimal function so I can watch tv or do something else equally as inane without well doing anything but listening and looking.

I don’t react to things like other people do.

A few weeks ago I was watching tv with a friend when he turned to me and said I should change the channel as I didn’t seem to be enjoying what we were watching even though he found it hilarious.

I realised that I’d got a blank expression on my face and that I’d not laughed at all or even made any kind of audible sound for quite some time.

I found the show as funny as he did, but I just didn’t laugh.

So I started to make an effort to laugh at things I found funny.

The next thing my friend said was ‘It wasn’t that funny, you’ve gone from one extreme to the other!’.

So it would seem I have the ability to not react to things in the normal ‘expected’ way.

Is this because I am so used to it being just me once the kids have gone to sleep?

Is it almost like the ‘If a tree falls in the woods and no-one is around to hear it, does it still make a sound?’ quandry?

Hmmmm.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

