badluckfairy

March 19, 2011

Socially devoted to you

Filed under: Family,Kids — by badluckfairy @ 22:15

How do you help someone who likes to sing from their own page fit in socially?

Someone who doesn’t want to be a social sheep.  Someone who’s outlook and philosophy of life is inspiring and intriguing?

Who is this someone?  My seven year old daughter.

On Thursday whilst having a heart to heart about trust, and what it means to be able to trust someone, my daughter let slip one of her most guarded secrets.

After saying it, she quickly asked ‘Did I say that out loud?’.

Then proceeded to deny that she felt that way.

‘I don’t feel like I fit in with the girls at school’.

That’s what she said.  And after a little coaxing she admitted that she did feel a little bit like it was true.

I wish this post featured me coming to some kind of conclusion.  Me deciding on some kind of action.  But alas, it doesn’t.

The only thing I have done is to speak to one of the teachers at school without my daughter being there.  They have said they will try and encourage her to interact with the girls more often.

They say that the other girls would be upset if they knew how my daughter felt.

Does anyone have any ideas?  I sure don’t.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

