badluckfairy

March 15, 2011

Japan hit by tragedy

Filed under: Health,Humanities — by badluckfairy @ 09:55

Yes, I know it happened on Friday.  But I didn’t find out about it until fairly late Friday night.

We don’t tend to watch the news.  I know that if anything major happens or anything that I should know about happens, I will be told about it by friends or family.

I knew exactly what was going to happen as soon as I found out.  And sure enough, as soon as we walked into my daughter’s class on Monday morning, the white board was filled up with video clips, headlines and news bulletins about the earthquake and tsunami.

Speechless and devestated- that’s how I would describe my reaction to watching the news on Friday night.  I have friends who have family in Japan so my first thought was to find out if everyone is accounted for.

Sadly we have had no news so far about a friend of mine’s 2 small nephews.  My thoughts keep on flitting to them and I can’t wait to hopefully hear they are safe and well.

Then it hits me, all those who I don’t know of that aren’t accounted for.  The children, parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins.

I can only begin to imagine how those searching for loved ones are feeling.  I can only hope that as many of them as possible have happy reunions with those who are currently missing.

Whole towns practically washed off the face of the earth.  Crops and livelyhoods gone.  I can only hope that Japan recovers.

What was I saying about my situation and the situation of others last week?

I am so grateful and so lucky to know exactly where my family and friends are right now.  Not to mention the house and amenities I have around me.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

