badluckfairy

March 14, 2011

Me….write an essay….really?

Filed under: College,Humanities — by badluckfairy @ 13:20

So on Friday I went to the college assessment.

The maths test was ok.  I think I did fairly well in that.  Well, at least if I didn’t get some of the actual answers right there were marks available for showing your working out!

The English test… well what a nightmare!  We had to write a letter then a mini essay.

I hadn’t written an essay for about 12 years, and I’ve never been particularly good at writing them anyway.  When I go for my interview, I think I’ll take one of my short stories along just so I can prove that I can actually use the English language to write coherently.

The real kick in the teeth came when I found out that the GCSE equivalents that I have done in recent years actually mean nothing.  Nada.  Zip.

And because I can’t afford to pay to get my original GCSE certificates posted to me, I will have to do Lincoln College’s equivalents to English and Maths GCSE.  So I’d be replacing equivalents with equivalents and doing extra hours every week.

That’s if I get an offer of a place.

And then there’s the fact that I do not qualify for any help with actual fees.  So even if I get a place I might not be able to take it unless I can find some kind of sponsorship.  Apparently the college might possibly take pity on me and let me do the course for free instead of asking that I pay £1000 in tuition fees.

But for now, I just need to concentrate on psyching myself up for when I get my interview.  I need to get an offer of a place first then think about fees.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

